Make the most of the financial resources available to you as a UBC student.


American Society of Photogrammetry Robert Bruce Scott Prize

The American Society of Photogrammetry has endowed this prize as a memorial to Robert Bruce Scott. The prize is made on the recommendation of the Department to the student who receives the highest mark in GEOB 373 (Introduction to Remote Sensing).

Canadian Association of Geographers Undergraduate Prize

A one-year membership in the Association which includes subscriptions to all the CAG publications. This prize is awarded to a graduating student in Geography who has demonstrated the greatest proficiency in the subject by recommendation from the Department.

Faculty Women's Club Memorial Prize

This award was established in memory of J. Iris Farley by her husband to commemorate her 30-year association with the Faculty Women’s Club. Mrs. Farley, who was a teacher, and wife of Bert Farley, Professor Emeritus in Geography, sustained a life-long interest in education. This award is given to an undergraduate demonstrating excellence in cartography by recommendation from the Department.

Jared Stanley Memorial Prize

This prize has been endowed by family, friends and colleagues in memory of Jared Stanley (December 2, 1979 to January 11, 2005) for Master of Science students in Geography who have demonstrated excellence in their final year of study. The prize is made on the recommendation of the Department in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Jimmy Grewal Memorial Award in Geography

A prize in memory of Jimmy Grewal is offered to outstanding undergraduate or graduate students in Geography who are passionate about the environment and have a demonstrated record of volunteering and community service.

Okabe Prize in Climatology

This prize has been endowed by Dr. Ian T. Okabe for a graduating student in the Honours program in Climatology by recommendation from the Department.

Peter Schaub Award

The award has been endowed in memory of Peter Schaub by the Centre for Health Services and Policy Research, with supplemental contributions from friends and colleagues. Preference is given to candidates who have shown a commitment to using geographic data to improve the human condition in fields such as health, social conditions, early childhood education or related areas. The award is made on the recommendation of the Department.

Dr. Ken Denike Award in Transportation Studies

An award has been made available through an endowment established by Dr. Luigi G. (Joe) Sulmona (B.A. 1986, M.A. 1992, D.Phil. 2012) and friends in honour of Dr. Ken Denike (B.Sc. 1963, M.Sc. 1966), for students who demonstrate an interest in the fields related to urban and global transportation, connectivity and mobility, and a commitment to furthering interdisciplinary inquiry related to these themes.

Dr. Denike, Assistant Professor Emeritus in UBC’s Department of Geography, has made a notable contribution to the teaching and research of spatial analysis, urban organization and theory, urban planning, transportation, and disease studies. He played a central role in establishing the Vancouver Coastal Health district as a key director on the inaugural board.

The award is made on the recommendation of an Adjudication Committee led by the Department of Geography.


Climate Studies IBPOC Student Support Fund

The fund provides assistance to undergraduate students from Indigenous, Black and other racialized communities of colour who are studying climate change at UBC. Learn more and apply.

Geography Alumni Scholarship

The Geography Alumni Scholarship contains multiple scholarships, initiated to acknowledge the contribution of J. Lewis Robinson to the Department and the University. The scholarships are awarded to an outstanding student entering their final year of a program leading to a B.A. or B.Sc. in Geography by recommendation from the Department.

Liu Lin Ping Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship in memory of Mrs. Liu Lin Ping is offered to a student whose studies are concerned with advancing cross-cultural understanding and who has achieved distinction in written work related to cross-cultural studies. The scholarship is given based on the recommendation from the Faculty of Arts in consultation with the respective departments.

Walter G. Hardwick Scholarship in Urban Studies

Three scholarships have been endowed by his family in honour of Dr. Walter G. Hardwick, one of North America’s leading urban geographers. One scholarship is provided for a doctoral student in Urban Studies and two scholarships are provided for outstanding undergraduate students in Urban Studies by recommendation from the Department.

William Gordon Fleet Bursary in Geography

The bursary is offered through a bequest by William Gordon Fleet for an undergraduate in geography demonstrating financial need.

British Petroleum Canada Bursary

This bursary is given to students who have applied for Government assistance and are studying Commerce, Economics, Engineering, or Earth Sciences (Astronomy, Geography, Geology or Geophysics). Those interested must send an application to the Awards Office.


Department of Geography Endowment

Established in 1999, this endowment supports student travel awards, field trips and visiting speakers, among other ongoing activities that enrich the academic experience for students within the department of Geography.

Past Recipients

American Society of Photogrammetry Robert Bruce Scott Prize

2013W Sherry Yang

2014W Micheal Jerowsky

2015W Andras Szeitz

2016W Sashka Warner

2017W Emma Sherwood

Faculty Women’s Club Memorial Prize

2013W Jacquelyne Fitchell

2014W Yun-chen Sophie Lee

2015W Connor Guilherme

2017W Andrea Gonzalez

Geography Alumni Scholarship

2012W Spencer Pasieka

2012W Stephanie Dick

2012W Noah Rosen

2012W Lia Dengler

2012W Sarah Ravensbergen

2012W Chelsea Walley

2013W Sarah Lone

2013W Sejal Lal

2013W Cherie-Nicole Leo

2013W Danielle Jang

2013W Julia Newton

2014W Natasha Pekurel

2014W Haven Jerreat-Poole

2014W Kevin Shackles

2014W Tamara Younie

2014W Sophie Marshall

2014W Rumbidzai Chikowero

2015W Megan Fyfe

2015W Heidi Schaefer

2015W Matthew Chung

2015W Madelyn Dekerf

2015W Camille Mohn

2015W Tess Adebar

2016W Jacob Bauer

2016W Sarah Barton-Bridges

2016W Yun-chen Sophie Lee

2016W Tess Cohen

2016W Meggan Jacobson

2016W Fiona Jones

2017W Alyson Char

2017W Miranda Russell

2017W Tiffany Loh

2017W Gavin Luymes

2017W Jamie Gauk

Jared Stanley Memorial Prize

2012W Maria Elgueta Astaburuaga

2013W Lawrence Bird

2014W Alexis Moyer

2015W Alexander McMahon

2016W Kelsey Everard

2017W Stefan Gronsdahl

Scholarship Recipients

Jimmy Grewal Memorial Award in Geography

2012W Sophie Webber

2012W Sarah Lone

2013W Joanna Yang

2013W William Allen

2014W Salome Buglass

2015W Adele Therias

2017W Mollie Holmberg

Peter Schaub CHSPR Memorial Award

2013W Carter Xin

2014W Avyi Koulas

2017W Carly Gardner

Walter G. Hardwick Scholarship in Urban Studies

2012W Emily Rosenman

2012W Stefan Raupach

2012W Kathryn Mandell

2013W Holly Wacker

2013W Sejal Lal

2013W Qinran Yang

2014W Chiyi Tam

2014W Angelina Sangulin

2014W Craig Jones

2015W Khiran O’Neill

2015W Anson Ching

2015W Dan Cohen

2016W Julian Villafuerte Diaz

2016W Christa Yeung

2016W Nina Ebner

2017W Aaron Obedkoff

2017W Luke Barnesmoore

On this page